The Starbucks Tissue Project

30 Jun

Before anything else, a disclosure. I am at Starbucks more times in a week than is healthy.

I guess you could call me stereotypical, but I write at Starbucks, eat at Starbucks and learn at Starbucks. It’s a weird life, certainly, but maybe that’s just because I’m a writer. I was born strange, with stories in my head that screamed at me for freedom. Guess where I set them free?

Well, as this post will tell you, I set them free on Starbucks tissue. Yes, really on tissue.

You see, I have this really strange fixation with writing things down. Hence, every single time I go to Starbucks, something always comes up which I feel the need to write down. Whether it be some deep reflection or just a random thought, it unfailingly ends up scribbled on the little brown things.

For this reason, I bring very little paper whenever I go to Starbucks. The baristas know my habit so much that they actually learned to always ask if I wanted more tissue. It’s a symbiotic relationship which has flourished with every visit, and it’s still growing stronger with every mocha frappe.

At this moment, I am currently typing on my desk, surrounded by folded tissues. As you can guess, I am in the process of transcribing all the tissues into typed form. Friends earlier remarked that my desk looked like a tissue factory, but that matters very  little now.

Those same friends also remarked that the thoughts were somewhat deep, so I think the transcription is worth the effort. Who knows, someone might learn from the tissue-thoughts too.

Anyhow, there is  much to do. As of the current count, I have around 400 or so, which means a lot of tissues to transcribe. Additionally, there is the formatting to think about, as well as the graphics I might use. Check back here for periodic updates in my mission and see you at Starbucks!

Doodle

Oh, how true. Starbucks doodle by Helen Harrop.

Updates

* The photo above was so awesomely doodled by Helen Harrop, whom you can find on Twitter @iamcreative. Check her out! It certainly describes my feelings towards Starbucks.

* As of this current moment, I have successfully transcribed 120 tissues, with more on the way, judging by the abundant sea of Starbucks brown which still remains. Check  back!

* I plan to donate a portion of the proceeds of this book to the Starbucks Foundation’s Create Jobs for USA program, along with one more foundation if possible. It’s my way of giving back.

* Additionally, I plan to put forward a paperback version of this compendium, with a complimentary copy given to as many Starbucks stores as my energy and funds will allow. Again, giving back is the ethos here. Photo to the cover of the book is already up on the blog.

12 Responses to “The Starbucks Tissue Project”

  1. josie June 30, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    I love the book cover , very cool, I find it so interesting the way you write everything down on the bits of paper and that you get asked if you need more , again very cool :)

    • Bea Kylene Jumarang July 1, 2012 at 2:45 am #

      It is a definite relationship. I love the cafe culture at Starbucks – really do. Haven’t had a bad experience yet, either in a physical store or at an airport location. And yes, I do have an unhealthy obsession with the tissues. Thanks for the comment!

  2. ajjrichmond June 30, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    Love this! I usually end up writing at Starbucks too, but my drink of choice is Grande Chai Tea Latte with Soy milk, extra hot ;)

    • Bea Kylene Jumarang July 1, 2012 at 2:43 am #

      That is great to know. My usual preferred poison is a mocha frappucino with a touch of sugar syrup, though I also like the caramel macchiato. Food-wise, I go for a nice grilled cheese sandwich or around two waffles.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits : @ProBlogger - September 9, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on Twitter. About Guest BloggerThis post was written by a guest [...]

  2. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits | Buypappa blog - September 9, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on [...]

  3. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits - September 9, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on [...]

  4. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits | TUCSONTHOMAS INTERNET MARKETING AND BLOGGING STRATEGY - September 9, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on [...]

  5. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits | TroyCahill.com - September 11, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on [...]

  6. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits - September 15, 2012

    [...] a blogger behind Writing Off a Rails. When she’s not operative on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on Twitter. /* Filed Under: Apple Ipad 5 Tagged With: pro [...]

  7. Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits | Blogging - September 20, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on [...]

  8. The Internet Marketing Review » Forget Willpower: Here’s What You Can Do to Dominate Bad Blogging Habits - September 24, 2012

    [...] blogger behind Writing Off the Rails. When she’s not working on her books or her blog, she’s writing on tissues inside a Starbucks café, or socializing with people on [...]

Jump into the conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

